1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

Advice please!

Discussion in 'XJ Technical Chat' started by ouchie, Aug 4, 2011.

1. ouchie

ouchie Member

Hi gang! Let me start by introducing myself. I live in Dallas, TX and over the last year year or so got a hankering for a new project as I was getting bored building guns and doing some of the other things that have interested me for the last little while....

I initially was looking for an XS but came upon my XJ650 and decided to go for it...here she is after getting her home

[​IMG]

My helper was a motorcycle mechanic and was excited to help me get her running/driving great again...(for about a day and then he bailed out and lost interest, go figure!) now I am on my own. I have past experience as a rider but it's been awhile. I have very little experience as a mechanic so things like the front brake took me a awhile to get through. Thanks to this forum I figured out my bleeding problem and now have a nice front brake (going to look at the rear brake here shortly)

Now on to my current problem....

I was taking it up to get inspected this morning and damn is it hot!

Anywho, once there I realized I had forgotten my proof of insurance so rode home to get it (about 4 miles away)...well, that "ride" took almost 40 minutes! It had been riding great until I turned into the place when it stalled out.

The bike kept stalling/bogging out and was really erratic with shifting on the "ride" home.

I called my Father in law and he said to check the clutch oil bath....hmmmm? I looked in my service manual and from what I am seeing it appears as though engine oil/clutch oil are the same....correct?