1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

91' XJ600S misfire at idle on 2 cylinders

Discussion in 'XJ Technical Chat' started by Jthumper, Jul 23, 2007.

1. Jthumper

Jthumper New Member

Hello everyone, My first post- Im new to street bikes as my friend gave me his 91' XJ600S due to him buying a ZX10 Anyway, this bike is a Cali model and has been in storeage for 5 years with fuel in the system. I cleaned the carbs, main and pilot jets are now clear except this cali model does not have a pilot air screw to clean or even one at all. This bike now misfires at idle on 2 cylinders but cleans up well after 1/4 throttle, my friend said it idled like this from day one- but I think he is crazy. Please click the video below as i think its way to rough. Note in the video you can here the misfire of the cylinder really well when i place my hand behind the pipe- and when i put choke on halfway threw the video the extra fuel causes the engine to smooth out and race to 4,000RPM.... please let me know what I need to clean out to get my idle smooth. Thanks, Joe

[​IMG]

2. Jthumper

Jthumper New Member

25 views, im thinking this is a normal idle?

3. Nick

Nick Member

Welcome to the site Jthumper.

I went to Yamaha's web site to check out the carbs on your bike and could not find a listing for a 1991 XJ600.

I did find a 1992 XJ600SD Seca II and below is a cropped section of the parts blow up. They show the typical plug # 28 covering the pilot screw set # 5.

There is only one set of carbs listed with an insert of a few extra hoses for the California model.

I would check your carbs in the area shown on the parts listing and look for that cap, under it you will find the adjustment screw.

Attached Files:

4. Hvnbnd

Hvnbnd Active Member

Did you say, "Gave You?"

WOW! nice ride

welcome to the best bike info site on the net.