1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

XJ750 won't start :(

Discussion in 'XJ Technical Chat' started by Ninjafish, Apr 30, 2007.

1. Ninjafish

Ninjafish New Member

Hi guys, I purchased a 1982 XJ750 Seca a few months ago from a PO who had let it sit for just over a year.

I figured it would need some tuning up to get running so I cleaned out the carbs and reinstalled them with the help of an automotively inclined friend of mine.

I recently put the carbs back in but the bike still won't start. It will crank but it won't catch. I'm new to bikes (this being my first one) so I'm not sure what exactly to look for.

Any ideas? What else can I check? Do my carbs need to be synced and if so what's involved?

Thanks!

2. TMHack

TMHack Member

Have you checked your plugs to see if they have spark? Also have you checked to make sure all of the carbs are getting fuel... These are two issues I have run into with my bike.

3. KiwiXJ750D

KiwiXJ750D Member

Replace the plugs, as they are cheap and gets that out of the equasion.

The XJs will crank over with a weak battery, quite alot of cranking too! The problem is that there is not enough juice left over to fire the coils.

Make sure the battery is charged (using a low amp trickel charger, a normal car charger can cook a bike battery).

You could carefully jump the bike from a car battery, not with the car running and make sure the ignition of the bike is off when you connect leads. A cars charging system can fry the bikes ignition components. Be very careful not to earth the positive if you do this!

If these don't work we can go from there.

4. Ninjafish

Ninjafish New Member