1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

Vacuum leak? crazy rpms, and now it won’t start.

Discussion in 'XJ Technical Chat' started by NikoRx, Dec 9, 2017.

1. NikoRx

NikoRx Member

So I am new to motorcycles, got an 82 XJ550 and have sunk a lot into it. I paid an elderly gentleman twice now who specializes in older bikes to do the carbs in August. I believe he did not change the throttle shaft seals but am not sure how to tell without taking them apart (he was hospitalized before he worked on it, and forgot to put some screws back after working on it). I don’t have any more money to take it back to him and now the bike won’t start up. Winter is here so I am winterizing the bike. When it was running I drove it a couple of times and when I was in my neighborhood, I had a new problem. When I pulled in the clutch the rpm would skyrocket. I thought the throttle might be sticking and double checked it and it was not. Only started happening when the bike was warmed up and the choke was off as well. I sprayed some starter fluid on the carbs and it definitely shot up when I sprayed the throttle shafts. Any advice would be appreciated. I love this bike when I ride it and now I’m not sure why I can’t start it up or keep it running without some fresh Hell happening.

2. k-moe

k-moe Pie, Bacon, Bourbon. Moderator Premium Member

You will have to replace the throttle shaft seals. The good news is that it sounds like the fella did a good job of cleaning he carbs othewise.
    You should also verify that he set the float levls corectly.
    The only parts you should need are the throttle shaft seals, which can be puchaced from member Chacal. Start a conversation with him.

IN THE CHURCH OF CLEAN

Replacing your Hitachi throttle shaft seals (Mikiuni carbs are simmilar)

Setting the fuel levels

There are more helpful links in my signature.