1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

1982 XJ 650 Maxim rough running.... Help!

Discussion in 'XJ Technical Chat' started by Mallory Bocchino, Apr 8, 2018.

1. Mallory Bocchino

Mallory Bocchino New Member

Hello!

I am new to riding in general, and managed to pick up an xj650 maxim a few weeks ago for a couple hundred bucks. It was in decent shape, a fixer upper, and I've fixed several things on it so far, but I can't get it to idle smoothly without dying.

So far, all the work I've done to it (not a whole lot, but still), is;
    Replaced the spark plugs
    Replaced the starter button (it was held on by tape.. Go figure)
    Replaced the oil filter with an oil change
    I have an air filter on the way in the mail to replace that
    Replaced the throttle cable

I only run 93 octane in it.

Yesterday, when I was taking it for a spin (a mile up the road and back maybe 2 or 3 times, it was COLD out lol), everything was fine. After letting it sit for a few hours, upon going to start it, it didn't want to start at ALL. Running it on choke and prime got it to go and it idled around 4k RPM, and after taking it off of choke and prime it idled at what it usually does, around 1000, but then would slowly peter out. Giving it some gas wouldn't help it either, it just... Poof.

I'm thinking it needs some help with the petcock and carbs because it does have a slight misfire when it's cold and idling it high gives it a minor backfire, and considering who I got it from, I wouldn't be surprised...

Am I stepping in the right direction?

I just made this account to post for help, since I've gotten all of my information from this website so far and it helps me so tremendously. Anything is appreciated greatly.

2. wink1018

wink1018 Active Member

Are the valves in spec?

This is the first thing to check before any carb work should be done.