1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

550 Seca kill switch /start issues

Discussion in 'XJ Technical Chat' started by Trvpstar, Aug 12, 2019.

1. Trvpstar

Trvpstar Member

Hello, I’m new to the xj world and recently picked up a 550seca for a cafe project. Long story short upon owner ship I chopped the frame grinder all unnecessary tabs and was ready for reassembly push start button broke off now bike won’t start. Ordered new killswitch/start assembly wired it in and still no start. I jumped the solenoid and bike turns over. Can someone explain to me why the pigtail from the harness only has 2 red wires and one blue and the killswitch pigtail has said wires plus a ground?

What am I doing wrong? I’ve tried doing research and everyone’s situation was different from mine, I’d really appreciate the help for a noobie /:

2. a100man

a100man Well-Known Member

Maybe a spare ground in the headlight shell connecting to headlight 'ear' bolts.

3. Trvpstar

Trvpstar Member

My thing is why would I need to create another ground if it worked before the way it is?

4. a100man

Franz likes this.
  5. jayrodoh

jayrodoh YimYam Premium Member

The kill switch "controls" 12V+ to the starter solenoid among other things and the start switch completes the ground side to the solenoid. The will be two smaller wires going to the solenoid )positive and ground) and then two wires up front for the kill switch and two wires to the start switch including the ground. Do you have a wiring diagram?

6. Trvpstar

Trvpstar Member

I don’t have a wiring diagram, I’m mainly on my phone so when I search it up Most of them are needing java to be downloaded

7. Trvpstar

Trvpstar Member

This probably sounds dumb but I couldn’t find anything on this info, would the reason my start button isn’t working because my kickstand isn’t down? It’s been on the center stand since ever since