1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

New member 1981 xj750....Simple wiring with a cdi question

Discussion in 'XJ Technical Chat' started by mercuno, Jan 14, 2012.

1. mercuno

mercuno Member

Ok I have been lurking for a while now and saw a few examples of the simplified harness and from what I can gather it is showing the cdi is to be grounded??

as in this posting
    http://xjbikes.com/Forums/viewtopic/t=35129.html

I have never had a yamaha before. I am a noob but I know a hint about wiring.

I bought a beautiful ground up resto mod 1981 seca 750 for 400 bux. after putting it together and trying to start it to no avail he apparently bypassed the cdi?????? Can that be done????
    still wouldnt start and like a magic rainbow with a pot of gold I appeared. I am so happy to own this soon to be monster but before I go and ground the cdi to the frame I would like some clarification as to wether or not I will start a nuclear meltdown by doing that. Glad to be here and thanks for any help. Tommy

2. darkfibre

darkfibre Member

You don't need to ground it, the ground is in the wiring.

Maybe this helps (I have tested this on the bike after writing it)
    [​IMG]

3. mercuno

mercuno Member

that is exactly what I have been looking for ...I will do this 2morrow. thanks for the pic brother.

do you have any more of those fancy diagrams..I will take all I can get. I know nothing of yamaha and I am about to completely hack this wiring up tomorrow.

Is the output on all of the pins model specific or universal. or do I need to dig up what exactly the pinout is for my 81 xj750 k or m or whatever it is?

thanks again.

4. streetbrawler750

streetbrawler750 Member

Here's a fancy pencil drawn diagram

5. mercuno

mercuno Member

Re: New member 1981 xj750....Simple wiring with a cdi questi