1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

Stalls when warm

Discussion in 'XJ Technical Chat' started by josh the man, May 21, 2020.

1. josh the man

josh the man New Member

Hello all,
    This is my first post on this forum, but have been doing a lot of research and still haven't found the exact issue I'm having.
    I have a 1982 Yamaha XJ550 Maxim. Its my first project bike and picked it up for $250. I drove it home knowing I would have to do work on it. The first thing I had issues with was it not shifting right. After going through the forum I found that my return torsion spring and the Shift Shaft Torsion Spring had failed. I replaced them and put it all together and it seamed to shift fine. Since then I have had the carbs rebuilt by a shop which used a sonic cleaner and oem parts. I then did a valve check and they where all way out of spec and so have just replaced the shims so that they are all now in proper spec. The bike will start up with little effort, however when its running for about 5 min., just long enough for the bike to warm up it begins to struggle at idle then after drooping some cylinders it stalls. I also notice some smoke coming from the clutch cover. Would a clutch cause the engine to stall at idle? I'm wondering if I installed the plates incorrectly. Thanks in advance for the input and sorry if this has been asked already a thousand times.

2. XJ550H

XJ550H Well-Known Member Premium Member

Your fuel cap vent may be clogged there is a link on how to fix it at www XJ 4ever.com end of the how to,

Did you put oil in the bike is it at the proper level? Seeing you had your clutch out in the pot if you're unsure you should definitely look at it again

3. josh the man

josh the man New Member