1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

82 maxim 1100xj rear wheel locked up at highway speed...why?

Discussion in 'XJ Technical Chat' started by jssepaterson, Jul 27, 2012.

1. jssepaterson

jssepaterson New Member

Not sure why yet, anyone know of a reason this might happen? Haven't looked into it yet, still recovering. Wondering if the gear oil resevoir was low/empty? I don't know how to check it.
    I'm new to all this and am kicking myself for not reading my manual thoroughly and knowing my bike better.

2. Sabre

Sabre Member

Probably because one of your rear brake shoes delaminated. It's a known issue with the original brake shoes. http://www.xjbikes.com/Forums/viewtopic/t=15874.html

If you don't even know how to check the oil in the final drive you don't have any business riding a 30 year-old motorcycle. There is a lot of maintenance that needs to be done to these old rides to make them safe put on the road again.

Read up here and in your manual until you feel more comfortable doing some maintenance yourself. These are some things you should check:

1. Replace rear brake shoes so you don't experience the delamination issue (too late)

2. Check date codes on brake lines. Odds are they're original and need replacing.

3. Replace the 30 year-old seals in the caliper and master cylinder.

4. Check the date code on the tires and replace them if they are over six years old.

5. Inspect the valves for proper clearance and adjust as necessary.

None of this is particularly hard. I have no mechanical training and with a manual and the write-ups here I was able to do most of the above with no major issues.

3. LVSteve2011

LVSteve2011 Member