1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

'82 Maxim Hard Start

Discussion in 'XJ Technical Chat' started by Daniel M, Sep 1, 2019.

1. Daniel M

Daniel M New Member

Hey all this is my first time posting here and I'm in a bit of a pickle. About 3 months ago I picked up a 1982 Yamaha Maxim that was having some issues with a high idle and poor running. The bike had been brought to CA from OR and was sitting for 5-7 years in Oregon. I brought it home and found it was flooding and running lean as well. On the ride home and during the test drive it would run beautifully when at 1/2 throttle or more and would run rough when on the idle jet. I also noticed it would misfire and backfire when letting off the gas during my ride home and found it was also putting gas into the crankcase and found gas in my oil. It also would pretty much have to be on 1/2 to full choke to when not riding down the rode to keep it running good. Once home I noticed it would pool gas on the ground until I disconnected the fuel line. In the last 3 months here's what I have done to get the bike back in good running order:

Removed and thoroughly cleaned all 4 carbs and rebuild the bottom ends.
    -Removed and inspected all 4 diaphragms (sprayed carb clean until steady spray through)
    -Removed all enrichment jets and cleaned (sprayed carb clean until steady spray through)
    -Removed idle jets and cleaned (sprayed carb clean until steady spray through)
    -Removed main jets and cleaned (sprayed carb clean until steady spray through)
    -Inspected needles to make sure there was no damage
    -New float gaskets
    -New float needles
    -New float seat (cleaned when I removed old seats before putting in new ones)
    -Polished float pins (1 & 4 looked like they were sticking some)
    -Reset float heights to 17.5mm