1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

Basic Ignition System Question

Discussion in 'XJ Technical Chat' started by day7a1, Feb 22, 2010.

1. day7a1

day7a1 Member

I just bought a 82 Maxim with 48000 miles. Suprisingly enough, it runs pretty good. However, as a basic tune up, I got some new spark plugs and installed them. Now, keep in mind that this is my first motorcycle and I am a diesel mechanic and have worked on cars quite a bit. I had noticed earlier that the spark plug cable seemed unable to detach from the coil, which I found odd from what I have experienced with Otto cycle engines.

Question 1: Can you change just the cable and not the coil?

Now, that was fine, but when I went to tighten down the new plugs, the spark plug cap came off in my hand. Just slid right off! At the time I was quite concerned. After doing some research I see that the cap is not integral to the spark plug wire and it might not so strange that it would come off.

Question 2: How are the ignition wires on a motorcycle assembled? More specifically, is mine broken? If so, how do I fix it?

I have been looking at this forum for many days now, and I want to thank you all for what you do regarding these great bikes.

2. skeeter

skeeter Member

you're not "supposed to" be able to replace the wires without replacing the coil, but where there's a will, there's a way . . .

rickomatic does a walk through on coil surgery here: http://xjbikes.com/Forums/viewtopic/t=11221/highlight=coil+surgery.html

i believe you can also get spark plug wire splices that basically screw in like the caps between two sections of wires.

the wires are just stranded conductor with insulation around the outside - pretty basic.