1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

Brake lines

Discussion in 'XJ Technical Chat' started by Kingston, Apr 9, 2012.

1. Kingston

Kingston New Member

Where is the best place to buy brake lines?

2. skoster

skoster Member

Top right corner of your screen:

XJ4Ever

Len has what you need.

3. tskaz

tskaz Active Member

+1

DOT approved, perfect fit, great price

4. bigfitz52

bigfitz52 Well-Known Member Premium Member

Important note: The assemblies Len offers are DoT approved; not just the components thereof. This is the critical distinction between buying a length of hose and a handful of couplings (all DoT approved parts) and having at it yourself. I'm a very experienced mechanic and have worked on all sorts of vehicles besides just motorcycles; and I still wouldn't trust my life to my abilities to "build" my own motorcycle brake lines.

Plus, Len can source custom stuff nearly as quickly as stock off the shelf.

+2. Highly recommended.

5. sgio

sgio Member

I put stainless steel brake lines on my bike last winter and the improvement was incredible. Really scary how much those original lines were expanding. Now the brake lever is very firm.
    I got mine from XJ4ever. Highly receommended!

6. zap2504

zap2504 Member

I am assuming that the rubber brake hoses that Len/Chacal sells still need to be replaced every 4 years (per factory manual - as well as the caliper seals every other year). What about the stainless steel versions?

7. zap2504

zap2504 Member

Just curious as to whether this requirement was a XJ-specific thing or not so I checked some of my other bikes' manuals:

KZ440 - replace MC/caliper seals every 2 years; replace brake hoses every 4 years

XT600E - replace caliper seals every 2 years (no periodic replacement of MC seals mentioned); replace hoses every 4 years