1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

Coil and Piston Ring Recomendations Please

Discussion in 'XJ Technical Chat' started by LincsTriker, Aug 29, 2007.

1. LincsTriker

LincsTriker Member

I'm about to start the job of fixing my engine, Does anyone have any good recomendations for replacement coils. The ones fitted are my second set in 2500 miles (is this the norm?), they are after market ones not Yamaha specific.

The other big job I have to do is replace my piston rings. Now, I've never done that before, I'm confident I can do it but how do I tell which replacement rings I need? I see from the parts list that there are about 4 different option for rings and also pistons. At which point (and how can I tell) do you have to replace a piston as well as the rings?

Cheers
    Lea

2. KiwiXJ750D

KiwiXJ750D Member

Get your self a workshop manual. This will show how to measure the rings, the wear on the pistons and barrels. You are mainly checking for out of round in the barrels and the piston skirts. You will need the tools for measuring, see if you can get the shop to measure the parts for you if you don't have them.

This will let you know if you need new pistons and a rebore of the barrels.

If the parts are within spec you can hone the barrels and reuse the pistons.

The pistons should have a part number and size on them.

You need to clean the piston ring slots and make sure the oil holes in the slots are not blocked and that the slots are within spec (feeler guages).

You will also need to check valve shaft wear and replace the valve seals. Get all the carbon out of the head too.

Good idea to replace cam chain, primary chain and guide while in bits.

Buy or borrow a good torque wrench. Keep everything as clean as possible.

Hope this is some help. Been there done that :)

3. LincsTriker

LincsTriker Member