1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

Handle bars/ ape hangers

Discussion in 'XJ Modifications' started by csmith67467, Feb 25, 2010.

1. csmith67467

csmith67467 New Member

hi just joined this site. and its my first time doing a build. i have an 1981 Yamaha xj650. i have 16inch 7/8 ape hangers on it and im lost on how much more cable i need i dont wana end up to short. and ideas for grips. im also running forward controls and working on lighting and mye rear fender and seat. any ideas would be appreciated

2. schooter

schooter Active Member

I dont know how much longer, there hasnt been anyone on here in awhile that has used ape hangers.. however, they best advice I can give is to buy a good bit of 1/4 inch hose (I think the best hose for this would be the hose in the ice maker kit for fridges) and just run it from where the brakes and cables on the bike will be to their destination points

3. csmith67467

csmith67467 New Member

well i got the cable thing figured out tonight got my forward controls on. decided to go with a suicide shift. will post pics when i get a camera or get my girlfriend to do it

4. streetbrawler750

streetbrawler750 Member

Sounds cool, can't wait to see how the apes look.

5. koolaid5

koolaid5 Member

any update on this? I keep going back and forth between drag bars and apes myself. Interested in the suicide shift as well.... post up some pics.

6. morty

morty New Member

Keen on ape hangers too...pics pleeease.

7. jnimrod420

jnimrod420 Member

Got drag bars but they were to uncomfortable & now I'm waiting on some mini apes. I cant decide either. I guess I'm just gettin old. I'll post some pics when mine get here.

8. RickCoMatic

RickCoMatic Well-Known Member

There's one Old School Thumb Rule to use when selecting APE Hanger Handlebars.

The HIGHER the Handlebars are, ...