1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

Maxim X Starts, but doesnt run past 2500rpms.

Discussion in 'XJ Technical Chat' started by rpkittle, Jul 31, 2012.

1. rpkittle

rpkittle New Member

Hello,

I dont post very often so IU hope I can get some help fixing my 1985 xj700x.

This is my third year owning the bike, and its my first time having issues.

So this is what happens:
    I keep the battery fully charged on a battery Tender. The battery is new this season.

The bike will start great, with in a few seconds at most. The bike does idlt at around 1000 rpms when warming up. Even after letting the bike warm up for 5-10 minutes, the bike will begin to sputter out as I pull on the accelerator. To be specific, if I am slow on the throttle I can get up to 3000 rpms before it chokes and dies. If im quick on the throttle it dies at 2300 rpms. This is all while still on the center stand.

The bike ran great last 2 seasons. So I dont know where to start. I was able to ride the bike one time at the very beginning of the summer. It was hard to start then from sitting all winter(of course after a fresh oil change too). Because of such a hard time starting it then is why I put in a new battery.

I thank everyone in advance for advice. Im very mechanically inclined for automotive projects, but this is my first bike and experience fixing one.

I can get video tomorrow if that helps out.

2. mlew

mlew Well-Known Member

After 3 years of riding its time to take the carbs out for a cleaning and adjustment. Most likley dirt and crud buildup in the jets . Might also do the other scheduled mintenance things at the same time. Valves, fluid changes ,carb tuning.

3. MercuryMan

MercuryMan Active Member

Sounds like mixture issues of one sort or another for sure but let me ask a few questions.