1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

Modification of xj900f 1990 - by a complete novice

Discussion in 'XJ Modifications' started by Q007, Jul 14, 2013.

1. Q007

Q007 New Member

Hi everyone I'm David from Lancashire, England. I'm new here.

I was given this bike by my good old Dad who had given up riding when he picked it up - his arthritis was way too bad to ride safely so he bought it cheap in case he dropped it in the street. Anyway, he never ended up riding it (only to the MOT center) and it sat outside for 4 years just going to waste. I already have a big Honda as a daily runner but I thought I'd like another to mess about on. I've only ridden the XJ once - back from a recent MOT - and I didn't like it - felt wobbly and weird - although the tyres are old and I think the front one is about 10 years - dry rotting a bit. I then decided I didn't like the look of all the fairings, so I took off the front first - and took this picture.

[​IMG]

Can of worms opened, I decided "in for a penny," and started imagining what it could look like with a bit of imagination. Now, I don't really have much imagination - and absolutely no affinity for mechanics - although I have changed oil and cleaned calipers and such. So I honestly think this will be a long long project and one that possibly I won't finish due to not having the skills. I've joined here so I can hopefully pick up what I need and meet other people doing the same kind of thing.

So, anyway I've had the motor going, running not bad just missing a little. I've stripped her down further...

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

and

[​IMG]

and I've sent the swing arm off for powder coating - I found a load of rust right underneath.

I had to de-rust the inside of the tank - it was a mess. Far worse than the outside - which I've yet to decide what to do with.