1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

monoshock

Discussion in 'XJ Modifications' started by venlis, Jul 14, 2010.

1. venlis

venlis Member

ok its late and im having thoughts about a monoshock.

to start with i want to ask you guys has anyone done a monoshock mod on a shaft drive xj?

i need to throw in a scetch of my idea but now its sleepy time in this part of the world.

any thoughts?

i have but i need to sleep over it..

2. venlis

venlis Member

ok i did a simple scetch

[​IMG]

do we want a better drawing or can you see what im after?
    is this doable or just plain stupid?

this mod would tidy up the rear for good

3. bostonXJ

bostonXJ Member

I'm in the same boat as you. I want clean, simple lines. I'll be doing something like this in the winter, and your sketch looks pretty straight-forward to me. I'm no expert, but it looks to me like you've got the right idea.

4. Mad_Bohemian

Mad_Bohemian Active Member

Did you do a search here?? I'm pretty sure the idea has been tossed around here. The main issue, if I recall, was how to properly beef up the spine of the bike to take the added stress ...that and finding room to add the needed reinforcement..

5. CaptNemo

CaptNemo Member

6. venlis

venlis Member

interesting thread but im planning on reinforcing an original xj spare swingarm.

i have room for reinforcing the spine since my electric gizmos are gone,

i didnt catch on what axis the spine needs reinforcing?

7. venlis

venlis Member

bostonxj what do you mean straigthforward?

8. padre

padre Member

the 81 virago 750 had monoshock and the same wheels and shaft drive, maybe it would be easier than we think.

9. wizard

wizard Active Member

Virago swing arm & shock

10. TIMEtoRIDE

TIMEtoRIDE Active Member

That's a whole lot of fabricating, AND I think you lose the airbox.