1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

My SECA 750 Restoration

Discussion in 'Hangout Lounge' started by Special_edy, Mar 6, 2013.

1. Special_edy

Special_edy Member

Hello all!
    I've been doing a lot of work on my 82 XJ750RJ to get it running the way I'd like, so I figured it's time to stop lurking on the forums and dedicate a thread to my project.

First I'll tell you a bit about myself. I'm 23 years old, currently I drive a forklift for a living, and I'm going to school to be a mechanical engineer. I like fixing things, problem solving, and I like trying to understamd how and why things work. I like to speak up and debate things so dont let me get to you.

Anyways, I bought the bike 2 years ago from my cousin. It was his learning bike and then it became my learning bike. I had helped my stepdad restore a couple early 80's Honda Goldwings and Silverwings and I also used to be a bicycle salesman/mechanic(and I rode +350 miles a week) so I was familiar with two wheeled vehicles before I had never owned or driven a motorcycle.

Originally I got the SECA for $600 but I ended up trading a Lemond bicycle and $300 for it. My cousin had just meticulously rebuilt the carbs but he was having all sorts of idling/running issues so he sold it to me.
    I rode it for a while and fell in love with it, but after the petcock started leaking and flooding the motor 1 1/2 years ago I parked it in the garage vowing to rebuild it.

Fast forward to this year.