1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

New member in illinois

Discussion in 'Hangout Lounge' started by ian1320, Aug 14, 2009.

1. ian1320

ian1320 New Member

Hey all, figured this was the place to introduce myself. I just picked up an 82 xj1100 and im working through her. She is a big upgrade from my little kawasaki 454LTD. I am fairly new to working on motorcycles so im sure i will have tons of questions for the experts here.

Thanks in advance for the help
    Ian

2. xjdaver

xjdaver Member

Hey Ian. I just joined recently myself and picked up some useful info already. What part of the state are you in?

3. Wyldman

Wyldman Member

Welcome to the forum. :)

4. XJ700VET

XJ700VET Member

Welcome Ian, hope that you stick around. There's a ton of stuff to learn here, lots of great folks that are willing to share their time helping you through any problem that you might have. Our resident parts guru is a huge source for your parts needs, if chacal doesn't have it, he'll help you find it! He ships out of Atlanta & ships super fast!! I get parts in 2-3 days cross country to Portland.

Cheers
    Ken

5. ian1320

ian1320 New Member

im near kankakee, about 45 mins south of chicago.

i know this is fast but i already have an issue with the bike, it drips oil out of the airbox. I read on this site that this usually means on overfull crankcase. My question is do i need to drain some oil or will the problem correct itself?

It scared the hell out of me today when the carbs sucked up a bit of the oil from the box and a smokescreen appeared behind me. I thought i broke a valve!

6. xj650ss

xj650ss Member

Welcome to the site Ian
    Shaun

7. Captainkirk

Captainkirk Member

Welcome to the site, ask away with the questions. I'm 40 minutes north of Chicago.

8. xjdaver

xjdaver Member