1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

PLEASE ADVISE - NEWBIE HERE, CLEANED MY CARBS

Discussion in 'XJ Technical Chat' started by maximusprime, Jun 17, 2014.

1. maximusprime

maximusprime New Member

Hey everyone! This forum has been a huge help with the '82 Maxim 650 that I've inherited. The bike was running but I figured I should try to get it to purr before I do a long trip with it.

I took the carbs off, boiled them, went all through with carb cleaner and regapped the spark plugs to .030" (they were a bit wider). I tried a bench synch of the carbs and I've made a bottle manometer for another synch. The trouble is it's running terribly. At first it was idling at about 4k but i backed off the idle speed screw and that dropped it. Now it won't keep running at a 1k idle and when I open up the choke it suddenly jumps up to 4k again... it's like only some of the cylinders are firing and then they all kick in when i open the choke.

What could the problem be? I don't think i can synch it with the bottle manometer if it won't maintain a 1k rpm idle? How do I check that the spark plugs are firing?

Any help would be hugely appreciated

2. bigfitz52

bigfitz52 Well-Known Member Premium Member

OK, let's back up.

Are your valve clearances in spec? If not, do that first.

You said you took the carbs off and "boiled them." Were they COMPLETELY disassembled first, as in, butterflies and throttle shafts removed? If they were still assembled, you probably killed the throttle shaft seals.

How thoroughly did you "service" the carbs? Idle mixture screws removed, and their o-rings replaced? Floats removed, float valve needles inspected and/or replaced; valve seats cleaned/polished?

Did you accurately wet-set the float levels?

Bench sync?