1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

PLEASE HELP- Low mpg!

Discussion in 'XJ Technical Chat' started by Tonyxj650, Oct 19, 2010.

1. Tonyxj650

Tonyxj650 New Member

I've been riding my xj 650 for a couple months now and this is my first motorcycle, but I think my bike is getting really crappy gas mileage. From what I've been able to gather my tank is about 4 gallons from completely empty. But when I ride I only get to 55 miles max before I have to switch to reserve. When i refuel at that point it takes 2.6 gallons. This is only 21 to 22 miles to the gallon. Because of my trouble I've had with running out of gas and being stuck on the side of the road I refuel when I switch to reserve. So my question is: Is this normal or do I have a problem here? I understand this is an old bike but I get about the same gas mileage in my suv, and I dont have to refuel as often. lol I want to use this bike as a commuter to college, but its about a 1 hr and 45 min drive and I cant make it on one tank and its the desert so gas stations are few out there. If anyone has any advice or knows of ways to fix this PLEASE help! I really want to start commuting on her!
    Also, in the past few months I've cleaned and synced the carbs. Was having trouble with it running too rich and backfiring while riding, but I've adjusted my fuel mixture screws down to exactly one full turn out and seems to run smooth now.

2. mlew

mlew Well-Known Member

22 mpg is low, my 1100 s get 38 mpg. I would think you should get in the 35 to 40 mpg range. Have there been any modifications done to the bike or is it stock? There are many things that effect fuel milage, tire pressure , riding habbits are a start. Look at your plugs and air filter, are the plugs black and filter dirty? Carb tuning is important also, do you know what size jets are installed?

3. bigfitz52