1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

Re-jet 82 xj 750- need help or ideas

Discussion in 'XJ Technical Chat' started by rightwinger, May 30, 2009.

1. rightwinger

rightwinger New Member

Hey all, I'm the new guy here. I have an 82 Seca 750, I yanked (actually cut in many pieces) the air box, and soon found out that I need to re jet the carbs now. I plan on going with the pods and am going to chop the exaust. Does anybody know which jetting stage I should use 1, 2, or 3.

Do any of you have experiance in this, or have any better ideas?

Btw: jet kits cost about 90$ (and I'm broke) , does anyone know the size I cold drill out the jets instead?- I'm a machinist

2. dqnjuan

dqnjuan Member

You would use a stage 3 for a chopped exhaust and pods. Chacal has just the jets for sale. The equation on this site still had me running too lean I was at 128 mains and 42 pilots but need to go up on the pilot again.

3. rightwinger

rightwinger New Member

Thanks! Looking forward to getting it back on the raod.

Btw: Did this help out quite a bit, and how does an XJ750 sond with open exaust?

4. Tman_74

Tman_74 Member

I have a similar question on my xj650!!! 110 on the mains and 40 on the pilots. stock air box, aftermarket Jardines with custom baffles. My plugs, after a few chops are white as they went in.. Where do i start?
    dqnjuan has only head pipes plus pods and 128 are too lean!!!
    What defines the Stages 1,2,3???? where is the stage guide???
    HELP

5. bluepotpie

bluepotpie Member

not sure what the diff stages are, but with just a set of slip on's, you shouldn't need to re-jet. just colortune.

6. dpawl31

dpawl31 Member

Somewhere on here I heard if you stick with the stock collector - you don't need to rejet.

Correct?

7. bluepotpie

bluepotpie Member