1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

Speedometer Ratio Question

Discussion in 'XJ Technical Chat' started by lllintothevoidlll, Jul 3, 2010.

1. lllintothevoidlll

lllintothevoidlll New Member

My boyfriend's speedometer on his 85 yamaha maxim xj700n quit on him and of course now they are obsolete...

If we chose to get an aftermarket mechanical speedometer, what is the proper ratio to look for? Also, is there anything else I should be worried about besides the ratio?

Thanks in advance.

2. snowwy66

snowwy66 Member

i don't think there is any such thing as a ratio. they all work the same and pretty much have the same dimension cable spinning it around. what matters is the size of the front tire. having the wrong size.

3. lllintothevoidlll

lllintothevoidlll New Member

K Thanks. I'm new to bikes and when I was looking speedometers up, a lot of them had a ratio so I assumed it mattered.

4. snowwy66

snowwy66 Member

oh, sorry, i was looking at them not too long ago. but don't recall anything about a ratio. i musta been looking at the wrong thing.

they aren't cheap. i'll say that much. from what i've been looking at. if you find something cheap let me know. i'm going to mounting my old blackberry for a gps speedo as it has free software. my speedo works but it's slow. odometer works perfect. but the speedo reads around 52 when i'm actually doing 75.

5. pauluminous

pauluminous Member

As far as I know the ratio is 2240:60 (2240 revs of the speedo drive=60miles or kms:? (blanking out here)) and it does matter (HD mostly runs 1:1 or 2:1)
    Most japanese bikes (from that era?) run the right ratio.
    Mikexs.com seems to be a common source for after market/chopper/bobber gauges. Acewell digital gauges seem to be popular as well.
    If you're not all that picky a used gauge cluster can be found on ebay for $15+shipping.

6. chuckles_no