1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

Starting Issue

Discussion in 'XJ Technical Chat' started by charlie3, Sep 25, 2008.

1. charlie3

charlie3 Member

I'm a noob... I'll start with that.

For the past month, my bike has not been able to start on its own. I have to push start it every time. This morning my legs and ass are like rubber because it's getting harder and harder to crank her over.

Is there anything else aside from a broken starter that could be causing the problem?

Once it is cranked, the bikes works fine.

2. bill

bill Active Member

Could be the starter relay, could be the starter, could be the start button, could be wiring issue. What are the symptoms when you hit the start button?

3. charlie3

charlie3 Member

She chuggs like she wants to start but it just won't turn over on it's own. I have a battery recharger that I use frequently and the battery is new so I don't think it's that.

I probably will have the work done at the shop but I don't like going to the mechanic uneducated. For example, if there is a way to test the starter or relay system with a voltage regulator, I'd like to be able to tell the mechanic what the problem might be sort of thing.

edit to print this from another computer
    http://www.geocities.com/MotorCity/Speedway/7795/

4. Grynen

Grynen Member

There is a great post by Gamuru.

http://www.xjbikes.com/Forums/viewtopic/t=7828.html

Check it out. I had a similar issue with my bike. It had been starting but suddenly stopped. After running through the steps listed in the post linked above, I found that it was my starter. Luckily I found a replacement starter on ebay for cheap and took my other one to a local place to look at and fix.

But definitly go through the post and see what you can find hope it helps.

5. MaximXJ

MaximXJ Member