1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

Tail Light Help

Discussion in 'XJ Technical Chat' started by swguy270, Oct 13, 2010.

1. swguy270

swguy270 Member

Ok so for the last couple of weeks I have been customizing my XJ. Among other things it got a HD Fat Bob rear fender and an aftermarket HD cat eye tail light. I finally got around to putting everything back together today, and... POOF! I smoked the yellow wire from the bullet connector all the way back to the light. Now, I'm no expert but I am 30 years old and have been messing around with electronics and wiring since I was about 8, so I'm not a beginner by any stretch of the imagination. This leads me to my question: I have a black, red, and yellow wire coming from the tail light. Is black not ground like on almost every other DC system in the world? and if black is ground, shouldn't the other two be a no-brainer to figure out? Thanks in advance for any help.

Shawn

2. Cmccully04

Cmccully04 Member

yes it should be....But do you know the wires you are connecting them to?

3. swguy270

swguy270 Member

Yep. The tail light and blinker wires are in the same bundle. Two double connectors for grounds and the hots for tail, brake, and blinker lights, respectively. I have both blinkers hooked up and working, so all I'm left with is one double connector for ground and what SHOULD be the hots for the tail and brake lights.

4. Cmccully04

Cmccully04 Member

First it would much help, if you told us the year and model of the bike your working on. then we can tell you the correct color of wires you should be connecting to in the wiring harness.

5. Polock

Polock Well-Known Member

prove your wires with a battery charger before you hook them to the bike, you should have poped a fuse before a wire burnt

6. PainterD

PainterD Active Member