1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

1981 XJ550 Maxim Rebuild-First Post/Progress, Advice Welcome

Discussion in 'XJ Technical Chat' started by XJ550FirstTimeBuilder, May 29, 2020.

1. XJ550FirstTimeBuilder

XJ550FirstTimeBuilder Member

Hey all, I've been lurking on these forums for a couple months, but i just managed to recieve a confirmation email today so i figured I'd make a post about my bike and ask some questions/try to get some discussion going. My thanks in advance for the help this forum has been also, I'd have been hooped on several major projects I've done on this thing since day 1 if not for this site and its users.

Also, this is gonna be a long, long post. I'll be detailing everything I've worked on up until this point, where I plan to go from here with the build, looking for advice on what to do in order to save a bit of money (I'm a student and money is all sorts of tight), and the condition the bike is currently in/was in when I bought it *shudder*… previous owners in farmland are always interesting. If you make it to the end, I appreciate the read. If not, I totally understand. I'll post pics immediately following this post.