1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

1981 XJ550 seca as a first bike

Discussion in 'Eastern US and Canada' started by DanielLima, Dec 22, 2016.

1. DanielLima

DanielLima New Member

I never ridden a motorcycle before. Taking the class in the summer. Im trying to avoid a big powerful bike, as tempting as they are. I ran into a 81 seca 550 that Im looking at Monday. The pics look amazing. The guy claims a rebuilt engine and carbs and new tires. Plus it comes with a spare engine and carb. My questions are how reliable are those bikes? How easy is to do the work yourself?( I have some experience working on cars). Is this bike good for a begginer rider to learn good ridding skills?
    What should I watch for on this specific model?

2. k-moe

k-moe Pie, Bacon, Bourbon. Moderator Premium Member

The Seca 550 can be very reliable, however I caution against you buying an older bike as a first ride unless you have the mechanical ability and time to get it in perfect running order (Prior owners are 90% likely to not tell you the whole truth about what they are selling).
    It could be a good bike for a beginner, however it is a bit fast for a starter bike. IF you are the sort of person who can ride with due care, and resist the temptation to explore the limits of the machine before becoming accustom to it, than it may be a good choice.

In addition to a rider's course you should get (and read) Proficient Motorcycling by David L. Hough.

My preference is that (assuming you have the means) you buy a smaller machine to learn on (between 125 and 250cc), and get the Seca for a project to work on until you have a thousand or so miles under your belt. Once you are ready to move up, your learner bike (if you buy used) will still sell for about what you paid for it.

DanielLima likes this.
  3. XJ550H

XJ550H Well-Known Member Premium Member

+1^^^