1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

82 XJ550 sect with no spark

Discussion in 'XJ Technical Chat' started by jmcgrew, Mar 1, 2017.

1. jmcgrew

jmcgrew Member

alright.... more questions..

I've been working on my bike on and off for a few years now and have made some solid progress. Last fall/early winter I completed all the rewiring following the minimum wiring diagram. It was quite the project since I've never done anything of the sort before. I got the bike running and actually rode it to the end of the street and back when I realized it was completely gutless and was totally bummed. I realized that only 2 of the 4 cylinders were firing. clutch pedal side exhaust was hot and the brake pedal side was blowing slightly warm air. I figured I must not have cleaned the carbs as well as I thought so back to the carb process.

Life got busy and nothing happened with the bike up until the last month. I finally got the carbs back on and went to start it up and only the start turns over, nothing with the motor. scratching my head I checked for spark on the plugs and there is nothing.

Is there a way to check if the plugs and coils are even getting power? How? I've never used a voltmeter and it's a little above my head.

All help is appreciated..

2. cgutz

cgutz Well-Known Member

Not sure what you mean by "only starter turns over, not the motor." By that do you mean the engine turns over, but no ignition. Or, do you mean the start whines, but the engine doesn't turn over. If the latter, you have something going on with the starter engagement.

If the engine turns over, with no spark or ignition, you my have a week battery. You may have enough life in the battery to turn it over, but the voltage might be sagging enough the TCI/coils won't fire the spark plugs.