1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

Gunson Colortune Issues

Discussion in 'XJ Technical Chat' started by Mjolnir, Apr 18, 2020.

1. Mjolnir

Mjolnir Member

So I've been working on my XJ700n for several years and it's been running okay the last 2-3. I don't need choke/enricher to start it and when I do use it, it normally doesn't start. Most times I have to start the bike with a little throttle until it warms up. Every couple of rides it would have trouble starting and seemed to be running on only 3 cylinders because it had no power and was fighting itself. I routinely had (what seemed like) fuel leaks and it was running too rich. I'd take the carbs off, take the bowls, flats, etc. off and nothing seemed to be wrong.

I finally broke down and bought a Gunson Colortune and Carbtune Pro to get everything dialed in correctly (thanks chacal!), starting with the colortune. I warmed it up a little yesterday and put the Colortune on C1. I got a weird yellow/blue color and when I adjusted the air/fuel mixture screw the color did not change. I took it all the way down to seated and still no change, but it did begin to stutter. Same with C2. Didn't have a chance to check the rest of the cylinders. When I cracked the throttle, it would change to bright yellow, then bunsen blue like it's supposed to, but at idle it's a weird yellow/blue mix. (I'll try to post a video if it uploads). When I took the plugs out, they were wet with fuel. I do have white smoke coming out of the pipes, especially when I raise the rpm.

Hogfiddles did a total carb overhaul 3ish years ago.
    Valves are in spec.
    New petcock internals last year.
    I'm going to check for air leaks, but that doesn't seem right since it's running rich.