1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

New to bikes, engine running poorly.

Discussion in 'XJ Technical Chat' started by Carrot feud, Jul 13, 2022.

1. Carrot feud

Carrot feud New Member

Hello, I'm new here and new to motorcycling. Recently came into possession of an 85' 750 maxim-x (canada) figured it would be a fun project to learn on. I'm an electrical technician on a wind farm, so while I'm not completely clueless, carberated engines are not my forté.

I managed to get the bike running, after doing some minor things. The bike starts easy and idles fine. If I leave the choke engaged it will eventually ramp up to a high idle of around 4k rpm, as I understand that is normal. While in the high idle, the bike sounds great, and runs smooth. However if I remove the choke, and try to apply any throttle the bike sounds terrible, almost like its misfiring, and will sometimes even stall out at 2kish.

How can it run smooth at 4k with choke but sounds like it wants to die with a little throttle? One of the needle jets clogged?

Last edited: Jul 13, 2022
  2. Jake750

Jake750 Member

The problem might be your religion. May I humbly invite you to join the church of clean?

3. k-moe

k-moe Pie, Bacon, Bourbon. Moderator Premium Member

The choke (actually an enricher) is a seperate set of fuel passages that supplements the idle mixture. If the idle jets or passages are dirty or clogged that will be masked when the choke is applied.

While this is not a guarenteed fix for your problem, a simple and relatively inexpensive first step for someone who has never worked on a carburetor is to buy a can of Seafoam and follow the directions on the bottle for adding it to the gasoline. If the idle jets are flowing at least some fuel the Seafoam will gradually clean the crud out. You should notice a difference after the first tankful of fuel if not before.