1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

Oil on Spark Plug ... what to do next?!

Discussion in 'XJ Technical Chat' started by Jdtrumpet, Mar 23, 2019.

1. Jdtrumpet

Jdtrumpet New Member

So I am fine admitting that I am a complete NOOB to most engine work on a car or bike. I am a tinkerer and generally know how things work. This means that I tend to do a ton of research before I get going on a job and then tend to do ok with it... BUT I am having issues with this one.

The other day I started up my 83 Maxim for the first time after winter and it was running rough. I then proceeded to clean out the carbs with Seafoam, etc. assuming it was gummed up from the winter. After some more digging I found out that cylinder #4 wasn't firing at all. (3/4 would make it run rough!)
    After taking out the spark plug, I noticed it was covered in oil at the bottom and also noticed a small pool of oil under the bike the next morning when I went back to work on it again. I haven't found the source of the leak yet, but did replace the spark plug. It works for now, but obviously I need to fix this!

So, I've looked around and seen various ideas of what to do. My question is what I should start with, instead of completely re-doing everything (which would take me forever since I don't REALLY know what I'm doing).
    Should I just start with the Valve Cover Gasket? If I open it up to check what is going on, do I immediately have to replace the gasket, or can I just look around and put it back for now?
    Also, I'd like to avoid changing the valve stem seal because of the extra tools, etc.
    BUT, I am open to suggestions. What are your thoughts?

2. k-moe

k-moe Pie, Bacon, Bourbon. Moderator Premium Member

Look for where the leak is coming from.

If oil is all over, then clean the engine, let it dry, and dust it with talc before running the bike.