1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

Reminising

Discussion in 'Hangout Lounge' started by Jetfixer, Aug 21, 2019.

1. Jetfixer

Jetfixer Well-Known Member

Driving home this evening I seen a late 80's Buick Regal got thinking , you used to see Oldsmobile Cutlass, Pontiac Grand Prix everywhere and when I was a young lad lots of these vintage 76,77,78 were alot of first cars for alot of 16 year old. You used to drive around find for sale signs on these cars in front yards , of course the same thing for motorcycles. You used to see Honda 350, 550,750 for sale everywhere where I grew up and Yamaha dirt bikes or Suzuki usually ragged out...how many of these bikes started many of us onto the cult of riding? You do not see these things on the side of the road with for sale signs like you used anymore . I started riding at 14 on a 74 Honda trail 70 , put a bunch of miles on that , learned to ride on my dad's 75 HONDA CB550 , the first bike I owned was an 84 Kawaski 550 LTD ... I paid 1200$ in 89 sold bike in my front yard for 1500$ in 1999. I don't know just some things that I was think about. Cheers

Franz and ksigurdsen like this.
  2. k-moe

k-moe Pie, Bacon, Bourbon. Moderator Premium Member

Used to see a lot of first-gen Toyota Celicas too. Now you hardly see any. In 1989 I gave $900 for a nearly showroom-condition '75 ST. The same model in that condition typically gets sold for just south of $10K today.

The basic rule of cars: The cooler they are to teenagers, the fewer of them survive unmolested.

Franz likes this.
  3. Timbox

Timbox Well-Known Member

The old Ford line of rolling boats. Those big V8's in them were all over here in WI. I stared at 13 with a XR75, took my street test on a 78 Gold wing and my fist bike was a FZ600. Got the FZ from a salvage, back then when those bikes went down just the plastics would total them.