1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

XJ 650 4k0 - cafeish build

Discussion in 'XJ Modifications' started by sanin360, Nov 2, 2017.

1. sanin360

sanin360 Member

Well here goes nothing:

I planned on doing this from the very get go, but back then I didn't have a proper ''media equipment'' (a working cell phone camera) to be able to keep you up to date.

Basically I have decided to share with you my project build that was a bit spontaneous. At start, I planned on keeping it stock as much as possible because I wanted this motorbike since... a long time. However, later on the road when I bought the bike and started to work on it (with the help of you guys) I figured out that so many things needed to be repaired/replaced, that - I might as well try to make something a bit different. The project has been on its way for a while now, but as a student i haven't got too much time on my hands so it's going rather slow... Here are the result so far. I will make sure and update you guys on what has been done along the way.

Here is a picture of the bike when i got it: received_10209523817206588.jpeg

And after giving it some EC:
    received_10209688811411340.jpeg

2. sanin360

sanin360 Member

So first things first, I had to get the bike going and for that, I had to:
    1. Use a working battery (I know - I used a car battery, but at that time, I was still hesitant on buying anything for the bike until I prove it is not toast...)
    2. Check the spark
    3. Change fuel - if you don't know how long it was inthere
    4. Clean the carbs - again, they may look clean but they are all gummed up inside
    5. Check the compression
    6. Inspect clearances and change shims if need be
    7. Change the oil - inspect the oil you've drained out
    8. Pray to the old and new gods to get the thing is running