1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

XJ750 Seca stalls when braking (only when cold)

Discussion in 'XJ Technical Chat' started by Conraderb, May 28, 2019.

1. Conraderb

Conraderb New Member

Hello fellow XJ riders,

First, many thanks for the insanely helpful information on this forum.

I have a 1981 XJ750 Seca that I have been working on for about two years, and I have a problem.

My current setup:

- pods (PO, not my doing!)
    - a very clean set of carbs with a bench sync (church of clean level clean)
    - valves that are all in spec
    - a fuel level that I haven't measured precisely, but seems about right (using the clear tube method, maybe 4mm from the base edge of the carb body when the carbs were installed on the bike...?)

The engine stars up just fine, and when warmed up, the engine has a great throttle response, up and down the rev range. The engine and carbs sound "crisp" and "precise" and not "soggy" at all.

The problem is this: when the bike is just warming up, she will hesitate and then stall under very moderate braking. Any firm braking will stall the engine quickly.

Also, I want to brake and NOT stall, I must brake as I pull the clutch and give her just a bit of throttle (say 1/16th only).

(Also, if I have enough speed and road ahead of me, I can brake hard, the engine will stall, but if I continue to coast with the clutch out, the engine will keep turning over enough to "clear out" the problem, and then recover.)

During this warmup period, the engine sound at low RPM is often "wet" or "soggy" or very "gurgly", and it's slow to respond to throttle. It feels very "imprecise" and "sloppy" to respond.

However, these problems ONLY happen for the first few minutes after a cold start, and as I said, when the engine is warm, it's wonderful.