1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

Simmy's Naked Turbo Project

Discussion in 'XJ Modifications' started by Simmy, Feb 25, 2017.

1. Simmy

Simmy Well-Known Member

I've been dreaming about this project, going on now for about 33 years. I finally made the commitment to start this project with my latest acquisition. I plan to continue this thread and post any updates to the build here. I found an unmolested 82 XJ650LJ Turbo with relatively low mileage (36,000 kms) that's been sitting in a garage the last 15 years. Apparently it began smoking terribly so was just parked. He said it ran and idled fine but would fill the neighborhood with smoke so that suggests oil is leaking past the seals in the turbo unit. I'm hoping I can get the turbo repaired, I've seen the options Chacal lists and also plan to start replacing all the rubber parts in the carbs. To be honest without knowing of Chacal's parts availability I might have shied away from this altogether. So step one will be to just get this thing running soundly. What I really have in mind is a Seca Turbo that looks like the 82 XJ650RJ Seca with a few custom touches, 16" wheels being the most obvious change. I also bought a very shabby XJ650RJ donor bike. Although what I need are good cosmetics this bike will enable the mock up to proceed.
    IMG_1282[1].JPG
    88 FZ600 on the far left will donate the front forks, fender, wheel and brakes.
    82 XJ650RJ will supply big 9" headlight, clocks, tank, seat tail piece and side panels.
    I'm envisioning putting the 2 bare frames side by side and transferring any brackets from the standard Seca onto the Turbo frame, and also cleaning the Turbo frame up to eliminate all the unneeded fairing brackets. This is going to be a long term project. It sounds straight forward but anything like this will always throw curve balls.
    IMG_1279[1].JPG