1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

'83 Xj550 Seca Restoration Project

Discussion in 'XJ Technical Chat' started by geg81, Jun 11, 2017.

1. geg81

geg81 New Member

Hello everyone, this is my first bike and restoration project. There is a lot of work to be done as the bike has been left unattended for 15 years in a backyard. The bike has 22k miles and the previous owner has guaranteed that the engine was top notch last time he used it. This does not concern me as I intend to do a complete overhaul of the bike.
    Since my budget is tight I'm going to do most of the work myself. This doesn't scare me as I am a mechanical engineer (I work as a custom tool designer in the aerospace industry) and I am no stranger at assembling the stuff I design (or telling other people how to do it properly).
    However as I have no experience in motorcycle maintenance I will gladly accept any help and advice you can spare. I intend to update this thread weekly until the end.

(roll of drums) This is the XJ
    550full.jpg
    The exhaust terminals are "gone"... the underside of both terminals is completely corroded and almost non existent (only the chrome skin is still here :D).
    There is some rust on the frame but nothing serious at first glance, apart from this:
    IMG_20170611_114349.jpg
    As you can notice the welded "rib", where the rear brake footrest is fixed, is almost completely corroded and you can bent it by mere foot pressure.

If it was you, what would you do first?
    Thanks for watching.

Last edited: Jun 11, 2017
  2. XJOE550

XJOE550 Active Member